How to Get Unstuck: Come Back

Return to the present, over and over

Sara Benincasa
9 min readSep 12, 2021

--

The author, a woman with dark blonde hair and red lipstick, closes her eyes and wears a red winter knit cap with a label on the front that reads, “HELLO DOLLY! ISN’T THE WORLD FULL OF WONDERFUL THINGS?” as her gray cat, Polly the Demon Queen, sniffs her forehead.
One great way to return to the present moment? Focus on your pet/overlord.

Are you a time traveler? Me too. I can relive anything I remember, anytime I want. And do you visit other dimensions? Same here. We are human; we are creative; perhaps we even call ourselves artists. The trick is to not get stuck on these trips, to always return to reality so that we can do the work we are given to do in this lifetime.

In the interest of actually getting some of our dream projects done, I’d like to offer some ideas on how and when to bring ourselves back to the present moment.

As with any advice I give, this is as much for myself as for anyone else. It’s not always easy to come back to right now, right here, especially when our mental journeys take us to places that make us feel anything but our (boring/sad/ugly/scary/unfamiliar) present feelings. We can get high off the past. We can hurt ourselves in imagination. We can get excited about a future that doesn’t exist. It’s all incredibly compelling.

I have explored so many castles I’ve never seen. I’ve crashed so many cars I’ve never driven. I’ve dated so many people I’ve never met. My heart has been broken by people I’ve never kissed. My soul has been expanded by children I’ve never fostered, adopted, or birthed. Meanwhile, the chicken burns in the oven and I still haven’t written that…

--

--

Sara Benincasa

Author, REAL ARTISTS HAVE DAY JOBS & other books. Writer of scripts. Host of WELL, THIS ISN’T NORMAL podcast. Patreon.com/SaraBenincasa